Wassily Kandinsky

Improvisation, Wassily Kandinsky © Franz Marc Museum, Kochel a. See

"Please do not believe that my paintings seek to reveal 'secrets' before your eyes, that I have invented a special 'language' that must be 'learned' [...]. My 'secret' exclusively consists in that I acquired the fortunate ability to free myself from 'ambient noise' a number of years ago [...]."

As a painter and theoretician, Wassily Kandinsky made a decisive contribution to bidding farewell to objects in the traditional sense. He is one of the pioneers of art in the past century.

Kandinsky (1866-1944) grew up in a family that was financially secure and in a political atmosphere that was relatively liberal for the Tsarist Russia of the 19th century. Kandinsky began drawing and painting at an early age, but he did not start experimenting with watercolors and oil paint until much later. Kandinsky began studying national economics and law at the age of 19. After successfully completely his studies and teaching, he was offered a full professorship at another university but instead he decided to work at a print shop in 1895.

In 1896, he moved to Munich in order to study art and pursue a career as a painter. Then, in 1901, Kandinsky became one of the founding members of Phalanx, an association of artists that became known for its exhibits of Impressionist, Neoimpressionist and Art Nouveau painting. Kandinsky taught at the school for painting that was also affiliated with this group. It was here that he met Gabriele Münter, who was to become his disciple and later his life companion. However, the acceptance of the artists' association in conservative Munich faded quickly. The following years were marked by restlessness: Kandinsky and Münter travelled together extensively through Europe and North Africa until they settled in the house that Gabriele Münter had bought in Murnau a. Staffelsee in 1909. There, Kandinsky and Münter maintained friendships with other artists such as Alexej Jawlensky and Marianne von Werefkin. With the New Artists' Association of Munich founded in 1909, their outlook broadened and the desire for new forms of imagery intensified. This is a development that Kandinsky portrayed in his work on art history titled "Über das Geistige in der Kunst" ("The Art of Spiritual Harmony" [translated by J.H. Sadler, Constable & Co. Ltd., London and Boston] or "On the Spiritual in Art" [translated by Hilla Rebay, The S.R. Guggenheim-Foundation, New York, 1946]) (1911) and in the "The Blue Rider" Almanac (1912) that he published together with Franz Marc.

The outbreak of World War I resulted in severe censorship for Kandinsky. He left Germany and returned to his home country. There, he met Nina von Andreewsky who he married the following year. The couple moved to Weimar in 1922, then later to Dessau where he taught at the Bauhaus art school. In 1930, Kandinsky had to leave Germany once again and spent the rest of his life in Neuilly-sur-Seine near Paris where he died in 1944.

 

Münter House

Castle Museum Murnau

Search & Book

Weather

Das Wetter in Murnau

Contact

TOURIST INFORMATION
MURNAU

Telephone: +49 (0)8841 6141-0 
Fax: +49 (0)8841 6141-21

Image

E-mail

Image
Kohlgruber Straße 1
82418 Murnau a. Staffelsee
Germany
Image

Opening hours:

1 May to 30 September
Mon. to Fri.09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
Sat., Sun., holidays 10:00 AM - 01:00 PM

 

1 October to 30 April
Mon. to Fri.09:00 AM - 12:30 PM
and01.30 PM - 05:00 PM
Sat.10:00 AM - 12:00 noon

Image

Wassily Kandinsky

Improvisation, Wassily Kandinsky © Franz Marc Museum, Kochel a. See

„Ich bitte, nicht zu glauben, dass meine Malerei ‚Geheimnisse' vor Ihnen zu enthüllen sucht, dass ich eine spezielle ‚Sprache' erfunden habe, die ‚erlernt' werden muss [...]. Mein ‚Geheimnis' besteht ausschließlich darin, dass ich seit Jahren die glückliche Fähigkeit erwarb, mich von ‚Nebengeräuschen' zu befreien [...]."

Als Maler und Theoretiker trug Wassily Kandinsky wesentlich dazu bei, den Gegenstand im herkömmlichen Sinne zu verabschieden. Er ist einer der Bahnbrecher der Kunst des vergangenen Jahrhunderts.

Kandinsky (1866-1944) wuchs in wirtschaftlich gesicherten Verhältnissen und in einer für das zaristische Russland des 19. Jahrhunderts vergleichsweise liberalen politischen Atmosphäre auf. Mit dem Zeichnen und Malen beschäftigte sich Kandinsky früh. Die Experimente mit Wasser- und Ölfarben waren freilich nicht unmittelbarer Auftakt einer Künstlerkarriere. Vielmehr nahm Kandinsky als 19-jähriger das Studium der Nationalökonomie und des Rechts auf. Trotz eines vielversprechenden Angebots einer Dozentur entschloss er, der zu dieser Zeit in einer auf Kunstreproduktionen spezialisierten Moskauer Druckerei tätig ist, sich gegen eine wissenschaftliche Laufbahn.

Er übersiedelte 1896 nach München, um dort eine neue Existenz als Maler zu gründen. 1901 gründete Kandinsky die Ausstellungs- und Künstlervereinigung Phalanx, die sich durch Ausstellungen impressionistischer, neoimpressionistischer und Jugendstil-Malerei verdient machte. Angegliedert an diese Gruppe war auch eine Schule für Malerei. Dort lernt Kandinsky Gabriele Münter kennen, seine Elevin und spätere Lebensgefährtin. Doch schon bald schwand die Akzeptanz der Künstlervereinigung im konservativen München. Es folgten Jahre der Unrast: Gemeinsam mit Münter reiste Kandinsky durch Europa und Nordafrika, bis 1909 Gabriele Münter ein Haus in Murnau am Staffelsee erwarb. Dort pflegten Kandinsky und Münter Freundschaften mit anderen Künstlern, u. a. Alexej Jawlensky und Marianne von Werefkin. Innerhalb der 1909 gegründeten Neuen Künstlervereinigung München weitete sich ihr Blick und intensivierte sich der Wunsch nach neuen Formen der Bildsprache. Eine Entwicklung, die Kandinsky als Mitglied des Blauen Reiters in seiner kunsthistorische Schrift „Über das Geistige in der Kunst" (1911) sowie in dem gemeinsam mit Franz Marc herausgegebenen Almanach „Der Blaue Reiter" (1912) festgehalten wurde.

Der Ausbruch des Ersten Weltkrieges bedeutete für Kandinsky eine scharfe Zäsur. Er verließ Deutschland und kehrte in seine Heimat zurück. Dort lernte er Nina von Andreewsky kennen und heiratete sie im darauffolgenden Jahr. Gemeinsam mit ihr zog er 1922 nach Weimar, später nach Dessau, um dort am Bauhaus zu lehren. 1933 musste der Künstler Deutschland erneut verlassen und verbrachte sein weiteres Leben in Neuilly-sur-Seine bei Paris, wo er 1944 verstarb.

 

Münter-Haus

Schloßmuseum Murnau

Suchen & Buchen

Das Wetter in Murnau

Das Wetter in Murnau

Kontakt

TOURIST INFORMATION
MURNAU

Telefon: +49 (0)8841 61 41-0 
Telefax: +49 (0)8841 61 41-21

Image

E-Mail

Image
Kohlgruber Straße 1
82418 Murnau a. Staffelsee
Image

Öffnungszeiten:

1. Mai bis 30. September
Mo bis Fr09.00 - 17.00 Uhr
Sa, So und feiertags10.00 - 13.00 Uhr

 

1. Oktober bis 30. April
Mo bis Fr09.00 - 12.30 Uhr
und13.30 - 17.00 Uhr
Sa 10.00 - 12.00 Uhr

Image