Marianne von Werefkin

Alexej Jawlensky, Gabriele Münter, Marianne von Werefkin und der kleine Andreas in Murnau © Alexej Jawlensky Stiftung

"A life is much too little for all the things that I sense inside myself, and for that, I invent others inside myself and outside of myself. A whirl of invented beings surrounds me and prevents me from seeing reality. The colour bites me all other way to my heart "

Werefkin's colour, regardless of whether it is brilliant, is noticeably frequently interspersed with black. It is a gloomy note that penetrates the beholder of her works of art. It is equivalent to a glance into Werefkin's soul. That is because, in the painter's eyes, art is not free from all function. Moreover, it serves as a counterweight to all of life's trials and banalities. Nevertheless, more than others, the works of art created while she was in Murnau radiates an intensity of colour that by all means is comparable with that of Jawlensky and Kandinsky.

Marianna Wladimirowna Werewkina (1860-1938), daughter of a nobleman, was born in Tula in 1860. Already at an early age, she was raised and educated according to high Western standards that also fostered the young girl's artistic talents. For example, in 1886, she studied under the tutelage of the famous realist and protagonist of the group known as Peredvizhniki (the Wanderers or Itinerants), Ilja Repin in St. Petersburg. She already attracted great attention early on with her portraits in the style of atmospheric naturalism. Her right hand, through which she had shot a bullet in a hunting accident in 1888, never healed fully. Only with the help of persistent practice, did she finally succeed in using painting and drawing utensils again. She soon achieved a level of perfection in realistic painting that brought her the nickname, "Russian Rembrandt".

As of 1891, she worked with Alexej Jawlensky and moved from St. Petersburg to Munich in 1896. There, Werefkin gave up painting for almost 10 years to dedicate herself to promoting Jawlensky's talents. He was supposed to achieve and realise all the artistic goals that were denied a "weak female" in place of her. However, she intensively dealt with investigations relating to painting technique and discussions of art theory and opened her salon at Giselastraße 23 in Munich, in which a lively exchange and dialogue between artists soon took place – this is considered the cradle of the New Artists' Association (NKVM).

It wasn't until the end of a trip through France of almost one year with Jawlensky, that Werefkin began painting again in 1907. In her works of art, she combined the influences of symbolism with Ferdinand Hodler's and Edvard Munch's ideas. The lively exchange and dialogue within the NKVM and a summer of painting in Murnau a. Staffelsee led Werefkin to the subjects that were the determining factors in her works of art: human existence and visualisation of the states of the soul. Accordingly, Werefkin intensively dealt with the changing world of labour in the early 20th century. After the First World War broke out, Werefkin and Jawlensky moved to Switzerland and later to the Italian and Swiss lake, Lago Maggiore. The couple separated in the year 1921. Marianne von Werefkin lived there under precarious material circumstances until her death in 1938.

 

Castle Museum Murnau

Search & Book

Weather

Das Wetter in Murnau

Contact

TOURIST INFORMATION
MURNAU

Telephone: +49 (0)8841 6141-0 
Fax: +49 (0)8841 6141-21

Image

E-mail

Image
Kohlgruber Straße 1
82418 Murnau a. Staffelsee
Germany
Image

Opening hours:

1 May to 30 September
Mon. to Fri.09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
Sat., Sun., holidays 10:00 AM - 01:00 PM

 

1 October to 30 April
Mon. to Fri.09:00 AM - 12:30 PM
and01.30 PM - 05:00 PM
Sat.10:00 AM - 12:00 noon

Image

Marianne von Werefkin

Alexej Jawlensky, Gabriele Münter, Marianne von Werefkin und der kleine Andreas in Murnau © Alexej Jawlensky Stiftung

„Ein Leben ist viel zu wenig für all die Dinge, die ich in mir spüre, und ich erfinde mir dafür andere in mir und außer mir. Ein Wirbel erfundener Wesen umgibt mich und hindert mich, die Wirklichkeit zu sehen. Die Farbe beißt mich ans Herz."

Werefkins Farbe, obgleich leuchtend, ist auffallend oft von schwarz durchsetzt. Es ist ein düsterer Beiklang, der den Betrachter ihrer Werke durchdringt. Es gleicht dem Blick in Werefkins Seele. Denn die Kunst ist in den Augen der Malerin nicht frei von jeglicher Funktion. Sie dient vielmehr als Gegengewicht zu all den Widrigkeiten und Banalitäten des Lebens. Dennoch entstanden während dem Aufenthalt in Murnau Werke mit einer Farbintensität, die durchaus mit derer Jawlenskys und Kandinskys vergleichbar ist.

Marianna Wladimirowna Werewkina (1860-1938), Tochter eines Adligen, wurde 1860 in Tula geboren. Früh erhielt sie eine anspruchsvolle, an westlichen Maßstäben orientierte Erziehung und Ausbildung, die auch die künstlerischen Talente des jungen Mädchens förderten. So studierte sie u. a. 1886 unter Anleitung des berühmten Realisten und Protagonisten der Gruppe „Der Wanderer", Ilja Repin in St. Petersburg. Mit ihren Portraits im Stil eines atmosphärischen Naturalismus errang sie bereits früh große Beachtung. Ihre rechte Hand, die sie bei einem Jagdunfall 1888 durchschoss, heilte nie vollständig. Nur mit Hilfe ausdauernder Übung schaffte sie es schließlich wieder, mit Mal- und Zeichengeräten umzugehen. In der realistischen Malerei erreichte sie bald eine Perfektion, die ihr den Beinamen „russischer Rembrandt" einbrachte.

Ab 1891 arbeitete sie mit Alexej Jawlensky und übersiedelte mit ihm 1896 von St. Petersburg nach München. Dort gab Werefkin fast zehn Jahre lang die Malerei auf, um sich der Förderung von Jawlenskys Talenten zu widmen. Er sollte an ihrer Stelle künstlerisch all das erreichen und verwirklichen, was einem „schwachen Weibe" verwehrt war. Sie befasste sich jedoch intensiv mit Untersuchungen zur Maltechnik sowie kunsttheoretischen Diskussionen und initiierte ihren Salon in der Giselastraße 23, in dem bald ein lebhafter künstlerischer Austausch stattfand – dieser gilt als Wiege der Neuen Künstlervereinigung München (N.K.V.M.).

Erst gegen Ende einer fast einjährigen Reise durch Frankreich mit Jawlensky begann Werefkin 1907 wieder zu malen. In ihren Werken vereinte sie Einflüsse des Symbolismus und Ideen Ferdinand Hodlers und Edvard Munchs. Der rege Austausch innerhalb der N.K.V.M. und ein Malsommer in Murnau a. Staffelsee führten Werefkin zu dem ihre Werke bestimmenden Thema: der menschlichen Existenz und der Visualisierung von Seelenzuständen. So setzte sich Werefkin intensiv mit der sich verändernden Arbeitswelt zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts auseinander. Nach Ausbruch des Ersten Weltkrieges zogen Werefkin und Jawlensky in die Schweiz und später an den Lago Maggiore. In Ascona trennte sich das Paar 1921. Marianne von Werefkin lebte dort unter prekären materiellen Bedingungen bis zu ihrem Tod 1938.

 

Schloßmuseum Murnau

Suchen & Buchen

Das Wetter in Murnau

Das Wetter in Murnau

Kontakt

TOURIST INFORMATION
MURNAU

Telefon: +49 (0)8841 61 41-0 
Telefax: +49 (0)8841 61 41-21

Image

E-Mail

Image
Kohlgruber Straße 1
82418 Murnau a. Staffelsee
Image

Öffnungszeiten:

1. Mai bis 30. September
Mo bis Fr09.00 - 17.00 Uhr
Sa, So und feiertags10.00 - 13.00 Uhr

 

1. Oktober bis 30. April
Mo bis Fr09.00 - 12.30 Uhr
und13.30 - 17.00 Uhr
Sa 10.00 - 12.00 Uhr

Image