Kaulbach Villa

© Gästeinformation Ohlstadt, Doris Mayer

THE “PAINTER PRINCE’S” HOME

In the Kaulbach Villa, you can admire works by Friedrich August von Kaulbach (1850-1920), a member of the Painter Prince (Secession) association of Munich, not to mention his studio. He used the estate in Ohlstadt as his summer home from 1893 to 1910 and later settled here when he retired. Today the house consists of the original rooms as well as a small museum dedicated to the history of the small village. The village museum has traditionally furnished parlours and living quarters on the ground floor of the villa, along with old tools and other articles from handicrafts and trade, as well as old documents preserved in photographs and on postcards.

While the villa was indeed always a cultural venue, it was also an important place for the Kaulbach family. Friedrich August wasn't the only painter in the family: he was later joined by Max Beckmann as husband of Kaulbach's daughter Mathilde. Kaulbach himself studied at the royal school of arts and crafts in Nuremberg and later under his father. In 1871, he moved to Munich and, along with Franz von Lenbach and Franz von Stuck, became a member of the association known as the Munich Secession or the Munich Painter Princes. His portraits were predominantly commissioned paintings which almost exclusively portrayed members of the highest echelons of German and American society. Charging up to 90,000 gold marks for one of his works – which were typically in the Neo-renaissance style, so popular at that time – he was able to live a life of luxury. In addition to the stately palace in the city of Munich, the passionate hunter built a summer home with a studio, garden pavilion, bowling lane and swimming pool in Ohlstadt in 1893 – the Kaulbach Villa. Here he entertained prominent guests like Prince Regent Luitpold and the famous regional author, Ludwig Ganghofer.

Friedrich August von Kaulbach was no longer living when his youngest daughter, Mathilde von Kaulbach, met the painter, Max Beckmann, in 1924, whom she later married. Max and Mathilde Beckmann stayed several times at the villa in Ohlstadt – including in 1931, 1933, 1934 and 1935 – where Kaulbach's widow, Frida von Kaulbach, lived after the death of her husband. On these occasions, Beckmann would use his father-in-law's studio. Here, he created works of art such as "Moonscape in the mountains with snow", "Garden landscape in the spring", "View from the pavilion" and the "Self-portrait in a large mirror with a candle". Even though Friedrich August von Kaulbach and his son-in-law Max Beckmann were separated by an entire generation of artists and, despite the fact that their styles of painting and view of art were fundamentally different, there remain some interesting parallels between them. Both painted many self-portraits, portraits of members of the family and high society. Today, the artist's studio contains about 50 pieces by Kaulbach as well as works by Franz von Lenbach and Olaf Gulbransson.

OPENING HOURS

Wed., Sat. 4:00 PM – 6:00 PM
(April to October)

Guided tours, always at 3:00 PM

Contact

Gästeinformation Ohlstadt (Tourist Information Centre)
Rathausplatz 1
82441 Ohlstadt
Germany

Telephone: +49 (0)8841 7480
Fax: +49 (0)8841 795986
E-mail: info@ohlstadt.dewww.ohlstadt.de

Search & Book

Weather

Das Wetter in Murnau

Kaulbach Villa

© Gästeinformation Ohlstadt, Doris Mayer

Des Malerfürstens Heim

In der Kaulbach-Villa werden nicht nur Werke des Münchner Malerfürsten Friedrich August von Kaulbach (1850-1920) präsentiert, sondern auch sein Atelier. Er nutzte das Anwesen in Ohlstadt von 1893 bis 1910 als Sommersitz, später auch als Ruhesitz. Heute beherbergt es neben den Originalräumen auch ein kleines Museum, das sich der Geschichte der kleinen Gemeinde widmet. Das Dorfmuseum beheimatet im Parterre der Villa traditionell eingerichtete Stuben und Wohnräume, altes Handwerk und Gewerbe, sowie Zeitdokumente, festgehalten auf Fotos und Postkarten.

Die Villa war stets Schauplatz der Kunst, aber auch der Familie, die mit Max Beckmann an der Seite Kaulbachs Tochter Mathilde um einen weiteren Kunstschaffenden reicher war. Kaulbach selbst studierte an der königlichen Kunstgewerbeschule in Nürnberg und später bei seinem Vater. 1871 zog er nach München und gehörte neben Franz von Lenbach und Franz von Stuck zu den sogenannten Münchener Malerfürsten. Seine Porträts waren zumeist Auftragsarbeiten, die Porträtierten fast ausschließlich Angehörige der höchsten deutschen und amerikanischen Gesellschaftskreise. Mit Honoraren von jeweils bis zu 90.000 Goldmark konnte sich der im seinerzeit beliebten Neorenaissance-Stil malende Künstler sein Leben fürstlich gestalten. Neben einem herrschaftlichen Stadtpalais in München baute sich der passionierte Jäger 1893 in Ohlstadt einen Sommersitz mit Atelier, Gartenpavillon, Kegelbahn und Schwimmbad – die Kaulbach-Villa. Hier waren Prinzregent Luitpold ebenso zu Gast wie der berühmte Heimatschriftsteller Ludwig Ganghofer.

Friedrich August von Kaulbach war bereits verstorben, als seine jüngste Tochter Mathilde von Kaulbach 1924 den Maler Max Beckmann kennenlernte. In der Ohlstädter Villa, in dem die Witwe Frida von Kaulbach nach dem Tode ihres Mannes lebte, hielten sich Max und Mathilde Beckmann mehrmals auf, unter anderem 1931, 1933, 1934 und 1935. Beckmann nutzte dabei das Atelier seines Schwiegervaters. Es entstanden die Werke „Mondlandschaft im Gebirge mit Schnee", „Gartenlandschaft im Frühling", „Blick aus dem Pavillon" sowie das „Selbstbildnis im großen Spiegel mit Kerze". Obwohl zwischen Friedrich August von Kaulbach und Max Beckmann eine ganze Künstlergeneration liegt und sie sich in Malstil und künstlerischer Auffassung wesentlich unterscheiden, gibt es interessante Parallelen: Beide schufen eine Vielzahl von Selbstbildnissen, Porträts von Familienangehörigen und der gehobenen Gesellschaft. Im Atelier des Künstlers befinden sich heute rund 50 Exponate Kaulbachs sowie Arbeiten von Franz von Lenbach und Olaf Gulbransson.

Öffnungszeiten

Mi, Sa 16.00 – 18.00 Uhr
(April bis Oktober)

Führungen, jeweils um 15.00 Uhr

Kontakt

Gästeinformation Ohlstadt
Rathausplatz 1
82441 Ohlstadt

Telefon: 08841 7480
Telefax: 08841 795986
E-Mail: info@ohlstadt.dewww.ohlstadt.de

Suchen & Buchen

Das Wetter in Murnau

Das Wetter in Murnau