Gabriele Münter

© Konrad Wallner, Esslingen

"There [in Murnau], after a short period of agony, I made a giant leap, from depicting nature – more or less in an Impressionist style – to feeling contents, to abstracting, to rendering an abstract."

Many people link Gabriele Münter's name to the genius, Kandinsky, in whose shadow she lived for almost fifteen years – for lack of self-confidence and due to the understanding of the female's role prevailing at that time. Alongside Paula Modersohn-Becker, Gabriele Münter was considered one of the greatest female artists of the German Modern movement after 1900.

Gabriele Münter (1877-1962) lived in Herford and Koblenz as a young girl before she began studying art, first in Düsseldorf and later in Munich. At the Phalanx private school of art in Munich, she met Wassily Kandinsky, with whom she soon developed an intimate relationship. Joint study trips between 1903 and 1908 took Münter and Kandinsky through Europe and even as far as North Africa. Back in Germany, Gabriele Münter spent her summers with fellow Russian painters, Marianne von Werefkin and Alexej Jawlensk, in Murnau, a town on the shores of the Staffelsee Lake. Here, she further developed her art skills, replacing the detailed palette knife technique she had been using with generous brushwork in her scenes of Murnau, among other changes. Kandinsky drew her attention to a house in the Kottmüllerallee tree-lined road in Murnau, which she purchased with money she had inherited in 1909 and, together with Wassily Kandinsky, used as a summer residence. The Russian House, as it was called, became a meeting point for the avant-garde of art.

At the same time, Münter devoted herself to a method of reverse glass painting in a traditional style that is typical of the regional farmers and known as Hinterglasmalerei. The essence of this folk art, namely to reduce art to a simple structure of shapes and colours, influenced the artist and showed her her path to a poignant image statement. World War I ended this artistically productive period and also brought with it the separation from Wassily Kandinsky. She spent a few years in Scandinavia where she waited for Kandinsky's return on neutral territory, and did not return to Germany until 1920. After spending time in Berlin, Munich and the castle Schloss Elmau she moved to Berlin. New Year's Eve of 1928, she met Johannes Eichner. They became close friends. And eventually, Eichner was able to convince her to make a new artistic beginning. Thus, Münter began a second period of work in Murnau in 1931.

After World War II, the artist was honoured as a pioneer of the Moderne movement and an independent representative of Expressionism. She had spent many years fighting for this recognition. Gabriele Münter died in 1962 in the "Russian House" (today's "Münter House") in Murnau at the age of 58. Many of her works of art can be viewed in the Schlossmuseum Murnau, in the Münter House and in the Lenbachhaus municipal museum in Munich.

Münter House

Castle Museum Murnau

Gabriele Münter and Johannes Eichner Foundation

Search & Book

Weather

Das Wetter in Murnau

Contact

TOURIST INFORMATION
MURNAU

Telephone: +49 (0)8841 6141-0 
Fax: +49 (0)8841 6141-21

Image

E-mail

Image
Kohlgruber Straße 1
82418 Murnau a. Staffelsee
Germany
Image

Opening hours:

1 May to 30 September
Mon. to Fri.09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
Sat., Sun., holidays 10:00 AM - 01:00 PM

 

1 October to 30 April
Mon. to Fri.09:00 AM - 12:30 PM
and01.30 PM - 05:00 PM
Sat.10:00 AM - 12:00 noon

Image

Gabriele Münter

© Konrad Wallner, Esslingen

„Ich habe dort [in Murnau] nach kurzer Zeit der Qual einen großen Sprung gemacht, vom Naturabmalen – mehr oder weniger impressionistisch – zum Fühlen eines Inhalts, zum Abstrahieren, zum Geben eines Extraktes."

Viele verbinden mit dem Namen Gabriele Münter das Genie Kandinsky, in dessen Schatten sie – aus Mangel an Selbstsicherheit und dem damaligen weiblichen Rollenverständnis – beinahe fünfzehn Jahre lebte. Gabriele Münter zählt dennoch neben Paula Modersohn-Becker zu den großen Künstlerinnen der deutschen Moderne nach 1900.

Gabriele Münter (1877-1962) verbrachte ihre Jugend in Herford und Koblenz, bevor sie zunächst in Düsseldorf und später in München dem Kunststudium nachging. An der privaten Kunstschule Phalanx in München lernte sie Wassily Kandinsky kennen, mit dem sie bald eine enge persönliche Beziehung verband. Gemeinsame Studienreisen führten Münter und Kandinsky zwischen 1903 und 1908 durch Europa und bis nach Nordafrika. Zurück in Deutschland verbrachte Gabriele Münter mit ihren russischen Malerkollegen Marianne von Werefkin und Alexej Jawlensky den Sommer in Murnau am Staffelsee und entwickelte sich dort künstlerisch weiter. So gab Münter in ihren Murnauer Ansichten die kleinteilige Spachteltechnik zugunsten eines großzügigen Pinselduktus auf. Durch Kandinsky aufmerksam gemacht, kaufte Gabriele Münter 1909 von ihrem Erbe ein Haus in der Kottmüllerallee in Murnau, das sie zusammen mit Wassily Kandinsky als Sommerhaus nutzte. Das Russenhaus wurde Treffpunkt der künstlerischen Avantgarde.

Gleichzeitig beschäftigte sich Münter mit der bäuerlichen und für diese Region typischen Hinterglasmalerei. Das Wesen dieser Volkskunst, auf einfache Farb- und Formgefüge zu reduzieren, beeinflusste die Künstlerin und wiesen ihr den Weg zu einer prägnanten Bildaussage. Der Erste Weltkrieg beendete diese künstlerisch fruchtbare Zeit und brachte auch die Trennung von Wassily Kandinsky. Sie blieb einige Jahre in Skandinavien, wo sie auf die Rückkehr von Kandinsky auf neutralem Boden wartete und kehrte erst 1920 nach Deutschland zurück. Nach Aufenthalten in Berlin, München und auf Schloß Elmau siedelte sie nach Berlin über. Silvester 1928 lernte sie Johannes Eichner kennen. Sie verband eine tiefe Freundschaft. Und schließlich konnte Eichner sie zu einem künstlerischen Neubeginn motivieren. So begann 1931 in Murnau eine zweite Schaffensphase.

Nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg ehrte man die Künstlerin als eine Wegbereiterin der Moderne und eigenständige Vertreterin des Expressionismus. Lange Jahre hatte sie um diese Anerkennung gekämpft. Gabriele Münter starb 1962, im Alter von fünfundachtzig Jahren, im Russenhaus in Murnau. Zahlreiche ihrer Werke sind im Schloßmuseum Murnau, dem Münter-Haus und der Städtischen Galerie im Lenbachhaus, München zu sehen.

 

Münter-Haus

Schloßmuseum Murnau

Hinterglasmalerei

Gabriele Münter- und Johannes Eichner-Stiftung

Suchen & Buchen

Das Wetter in Murnau

Das Wetter in Murnau

Kontakt

TOURIST INFORMATION
MURNAU

Telefon: +49 (0)8841 61 41-0 
Telefax: +49 (0)8841 61 41-21

Image

E-Mail

Image
Kohlgruber Straße 1
82418 Murnau a. Staffelsee
Image

Öffnungszeiten:

1. Mai bis 30. September
Mo bis Fr09.00 - 17.00 Uhr
Sa, So und feiertags10.00 - 13.00 Uhr

 

1. Oktober bis 30. April
Mo bis Fr09.00 - 12.30 Uhr
und13.30 - 17.00 Uhr
Sa 10.00 - 12.00 Uhr

Image