Franz Marc

Hocken im Schnee, Marc © Franz Marc Museum, Kochel a. See

"I am trying to intensify my feeling for the organic rhythm of all things, to achieve pantheistic empathy with the throbbing and flowing of nature's bloodstream in trees, in animals, in the air [...]. I see no means better suited for the 'animalisation' of art than the image of an animal."

Marc's stylised world of animals does not seek the external, but rather the internal, to draw its nature. To paint animals the way they feel, not the way humans view them, that was his goal. When doing this, he increasingly moved towards abstract painting, but did not depart from figurative painting.

Franz Marc was born in Munich in 1880. There, he began studies in philology and theology in 1899. Just one year later, he studied at the Munich Academy of Fine Arts, under Gabriel von Hackl and Wilhelm von Diez. When Marc travelled to Paris in 1903, he was impressed by the painters of the Impressionist movement, but also by Toulouse-Lautrec, Pierre Bonnard, Edouard Vuillard and Vincent van Gogh. After his return, the artist especially focussed on pictures of animals: simplified and stylised. He tried to captivate the souls of these beings on canvas.

In the New Artists' Association of Munich (NKVM), which he joined in 1911, he found other like-minded artists. He drew the attention of the painter, August Macke, as a result of an exhibit of his works of art in Brakl's Modern Art Shop in Munich. Together with Bernhard Koehler sen., Macke visited the artist who was then living in the village of Sindelsdorf. Koehler sen. was so enthused by Marc's skill that he ended up becoming a patron of Marc's. Due to his preemptive right for all future works of art, Marc was financially secure and thus able to focus his attention on his artistic work. Among other things, he took part in the second exhibit of the NKVM (1910), which received hostile criticism. After that, Franz Marc wrote an enthusiastic review of the exhibit, upon which he was accepted as a member of the group of artists around Wassily Kandinsky. It was the encounter with Kandinsky that encouraged him to concentrate even more intensively on the symbolic force of colour along with its laws and effects.

When one of Kandinsky's pictures for the third exhibit of the NKVM was later rejected, Marc and Kandinsky withdrew from the group in 1911 and formed a loose group of artists: the Blue Rider group. In the autumn of 1911, they prepared the "The Blue Rider" Almanac in what is known as the Münter House. The first exhibit of the "The Blue Rider" editorial team took place to this end in Heinrich Tannhauser's art gallery in 1911. The Almanac was then published by Piper-Verlag in 1912. That same year, August Macke and Franz Marc again travelled to Paris where they visited Robert Delaunay, whose futuristic style of painting inspired them. After that, Marc's paintings increasingly made use of abstraction. However, he never fully departed from his figurative animal symbolism.

When World War I broke out Marc volunteered for military service. He went to war, neither full of enthusiasm, nor overcome by a feeling of elevation. Moreover, like countless other contemporary artists and intellectuals, he was convinced to experience a sort of "cleansing" in the war. He recognised his mistake too late and fell near Verdun in 1916. Pre-studies for abstract paintings which, however, Franz Marc was no longer able to produce, were found in his book of sketches from the war field.

 

Castle Museum Murnau

Search & Book

Weather

Das Wetter in Murnau

Contact

TOURIST INFORMATION
MURNAU

Telephone: +49 (0)8841 6141-0 
Fax: +49 (0)8841 6141-21

Image

E-mail

Image
Kohlgruber Straße 1
82418 Murnau a. Staffelsee
Germany
Image

Opening hours:

1 May to 30 September
Mon. to Fri.09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
Sat., Sun., holidays 10:00 AM - 01:00 PM

 

1 October to 30 April
Mon. to Fri.09:00 AM - 12:30 PM
and01.30 PM - 05:00 PM
Sat.10:00 AM - 12:00 noon

Image

Franz Marc

Hocken im Schnee, Marc © Franz Marc Museum, Kochel a. See

„Ich suche mein Empfinden für den organischen Rhythmus aller Dinge zu steigern, suche mich pantheistisch einzufühlen in das Zittern und Rinnen des Blutes in der Natur, in den Bäumen, in den Tieren, in der Luft [...]. Ich sehe kein glücklicheres Mittel zur ‚Animalisierung' der Kunst als das Tierbild."

Marcs stilisierte Tierwelt sucht nicht das Äußere, sondern das Innere, sein Wesen zu zeichnen. Die Tiere zu malen, wie sie fühlen, nicht, wie der Mensch sie sieht, das war sein Ziel. Dabei bewegte er sich immer weiter hin zur abstrakten Malerei und verblieb doch im Gegenständlichen.

Franz Marc wurde 1880 in München geboren. Dort nahm er 1899 das Studium der Philologie und Theologie auf. Nur ein Jahr darauf studierte er an der Münchner Akademie Malerei, unter der Leitung von Gabriel von Hackl und Wilhelm von Diez. Als Marc 1903 nach Paris reiste, beeindruckten ihn die Maler des Impressionismus, aber auch Toulouse-Lautrec, Pierre Bonnard, Edouard Vuillard und Vincent van Gogh. Nach seiner Rückkehr widmete sich der Künstler vor allem Tierbildern: vereinfacht und stilisiert. Er suchte, die Seele dieser Wesen auf die Leinwand zu bannen.

In der Neuen Künstlervereinigung München (N.K.V.M.), der er 1911 beitrat, fand er Gleichgesinnte. Durch eine Ausstellung seiner Werke in Brakls Moderner Kunsthandlung in München wurde der Maler August Macke auf ihn aufmerksam. Gemeinsam mit Bernhard Koehler sen. besuchte Macke den damals in Sindelsdorf lebenden Künstler. Begeistert von Marcs Können wurde Koehler sen. schließlich Marcs Mäzen. Durch dessen Vorankaufsrecht für alle zukünftigen Werke war Marc finanziell abgesichert und konnte sich auf die Kunst konzentrieren. Er nahm u. a. an der zweiten Ausstellung der N.K.V.M. (1910) teil, an der feindselige Kritik geübt wurde. Daraufhin schrieb Franz Marc eine begeisterte Rezension über die Ausstellung, woraufhin er in den Künstlerkreis um Wassily Kandinsky aufgenommen wurde. Es war die Begegnung mit Kandinsky, die ihn dazu bewog, sich noch intensiver mit der Symbolkraft der Farbe, deren Gesetze und Wirkungen auseinanderzusetzen.

Als schließlich eines von Kandinskys Bildern für die dritte Ausstellung der N.K.V.M. abgelehnt wurde, traten Marc und Kandinsky 1911 aus und bildeten eine lose Gruppierung von Künstlern: den Blauen Reiter. Im Herbst 1911 konzipierten sie im sog. Münter-Haus den Almanach „Der Blaue Reiter". Dazu wurde im Dezember 1911 in der Galerie Heinrich Tannhausers die erste Ausstellung der Redaktion „Der Blaue Reiter" gezeigt. Der Almanach erschien schließlich 1912 im Piper-Verlag. Gemeinsam mit August Macke reiste Marc im selben Jahr erneut nach Paris, besuchte Robert Delaunay und kehrte inspiriert von Delaunays futuristischem Malstil zurück. Seine Werke verorteten sich daraufhin immer mehr in der Abstraktion. Doch er brach nie vollständig mit seiner figurativen Tiersymbolik.

Mit Ausbruch des Ersten Weltkrieges meldete sich Marc freiwillig zum Kriegsdienst. Er zog weder begeistert, noch von nationalem Hochgefühl überwältigt, in den Krieg. Vielmehr war er, wie auch zahlreiche zeitgenössische Künstler und Intellektuelle, davon überzeugt, in ihm eine „Reinigung" zu erfahren. Zu spät erkannte er seinen Irrtum und fiel 1916 bei Verdun. In seinem Skizzenbuch aus dem Felde fanden sich Vorstudien zu abstrakten Gemälden, die Franz Marc jedoch nicht mehr umsetzen konnte.

 

Schloßmuseum Murnau

Franz Marc-Museum

Suchen & Buchen

Das Wetter in Murnau

Das Wetter in Murnau

Kontakt

TOURIST INFORMATION
MURNAU

Telefon: +49 (0)8841 61 41-0 
Telefax: +49 (0)8841 61 41-21

Image

E-Mail

Image
Kohlgruber Straße 1
82418 Murnau a. Staffelsee
Image

Öffnungszeiten:

1. Mai bis 30. September
Mo bis Fr09.00 - 17.00 Uhr
Sa, So und feiertags10.00 - 13.00 Uhr

 

1. Oktober bis 30. April
Mo bis Fr09.00 - 12.30 Uhr
und13.30 - 17.00 Uhr
Sa 10.00 - 12.00 Uhr

Image