Franz Marc Museum

© Franz Marc Museum, Kochel a. See

LEMON HORSES AND FIRE OXEN

The Franz Marc Museum was founded in 1986 as a homage to the life and work of the personality after which it is named. Up to his death as a soldier in World War I, Franz Marc spent significant periods of his artistic existence in the Bavarian Alpine foothills in and around the lakeside village of Kochel am See. He is one of the key artistic personalities of the 20th century, the point of crystallisation and a mirror for numerous artistic philosophies of his own generation and future ones too.

There it is in a green meadow, surrounded by tall trees with impressive mountain peaks in the background. When you enter the main building of the museum, it seems as if Marc himself were still living there. An intimate character lends the Franz Marc Museum a special charm. It contains about 160 exhibits: Oil paintings – including the lemon horse and the ox of fire –, wood carvings and personal belongings of the artist.

Franz Marc is at the fulcrum of the design of the museum building that was recently built in 2008. Over an exhibit area of over 700 m2, his works of art are presented in a dialogue with those by his contemporaries and artist friends. Exhibits linked thematically to the other pieces in the collection augment this focus and offer new insights into the art of the 20th century.

Besides the items from Franz Marc's estate, the collection in the museum includes important works of art from the Etta and Otto Stangl foundation. It also contains well-known works of the Brücke Expressionism movement as well as extraordinary works of art by Paul Klee and prominent paintings of abstract art from the post-World War II period, in addition to the art of the Blue Rider group.

The private character of the museum, the harmonious interaction of architecture, the collection and presentation, the integration of the house in a spectacular natural setting, and the option of combining a visit to the museum with activities in the surrounding area and a pleasurable meal in a local Bavarian or other restaurant make the museum an especially rich experience.

Opening hours

Tues. to Sun. and holidays 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
(April-October)

Tues. to Sun. and holidays 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
(November-March)

Getting there

By car on the B11 federal road or by the Regionalbahn (regional train).
The walk from the Kochel train station to the museum takes approx. 20 to 30 minutes.

Contact

Franz Marc Museum
Franz-Marc-Park 8-10
82431 Kochel a. See
Germany

Telephone: +49 (0)8851 924880
E-mail: info@franz-marc-museum.de | www.franz-marc-museum.de

Search & Book

Weather

Das Wetter in Murnau

Franz Marc Museum

© Franz Marc Museum, Kochel a. See

Zitronenpferde und Feuerochsen

Das Franz Marc Museum wurde 1986 gegründet, um Leben und Werk seines bedeutenden Namensgebers zu würdigen. Franz Marc hat wichtige Perioden seines künstlerischen Schaffens bis zu seinem Tod als Soldat im Ersten Weltkrieg in der oberbayerischen Landschaft um Kochel am See verbracht. Er ist eine der zentralen Künstlerpersönlichkeiten des 20. Jahrhunderts, Kristallisationspunkt und Spiegel zahlreicher künstlerischer Ansätze seiner und nachfolgender Generationen.

Auf einer grünen Wiese steht es da, umgeben von hohen Bäumen und dahinter die imposanten Berggipfel. Tritt man in das Hauptgebäude des Museums, so könnte man glauben, es wäre von Marc selbst bewohnt. Es ist ein intimer Charakter, der das Franz Marc-Museum einen ganz besonderen Charme verleiht. Etwa 160 Exponate werden dort ausgestellt: Ölgemälde – darunter auch Zitronenpferd und Feuerochse –, Holzschnitte und persönliche Gegenstände des Künstlers.

Franz Marc steht im Zentrum der Konzeption des 2008 neuerrichteten Museumsgebäudes. Auf einer Ausstellungsfläche von über 700 m2 werden seine Werke im Dialog mit denen seiner Zeitgenossen und Künstlerfreunde präsentiert. Ausstellungen, die thematisch an den Sammlungsbestand anknüpfen, ergänzen diesen Schwerpunkt und bieten neue Einblicke in die Kunst des 20. Jahrhunderts.

Die Sammlung des Museums umfasst neben den Beständen aus dem Nachlass von Franz Marc und der Kollektion der Franz Marc-Stiftung auch die bedeutenden Werke der Stiftung Etta und Otto Stangl. Sie enthält neben der Kunst des Blauen Reiters wichtige Werke des Brücke-Expressionismus sowie herausragende Arbeiten Paul Klees und bedeutende Gemälde der abstrakten Malerei nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg.

Der private Charakter des Museums, das harmonische Zusammenspiel von Architektur, Sammlung und Präsentation, die Einbettung des Hauses in eine spektakuläre Naturkulisse und die Möglichkeit, den Museumsbesuch mit Aktivitäten in der Umgebung und einem genussvollen Essen zu verbinden, machen das Museum zu einem besonderen Erlebnis.

Öffnungszeiten

Di bis So sowie feiertags 10.00 - 18.00 Uhr
(April-Oktober)

Di bis So sowie feiertags 10.00 – 17.00 Uhr
(November-März)

Anfahrt

Mit dem Auto über die B11 oder mit der Regionalbahn.
Der Fußweg vom Bahnhof Kochel zum Museum dauert ca. 20 bis 30 Minuten.

Kontakt

Franz Marc Museum
Franz-Marc-Park 8-10
82431 Kochel a. See

Telefon: 08851 924880
E-Mail: info@franz-marc-museum.de | www.franz-marc-museum.de

Suchen & Buchen

Das Wetter in Murnau

Das Wetter in Murnau