Alexej Jawlensky

Alexej Jawlensky, Gabriele Münter, Marianne von Werefkin und der kleine Andreas in Murnau © Alexej Jawlensky Stiftung

"And I am constantly searching for my form, so I can express what I can sense in colour."

Bold-rimmed eyes fixate on the observer out of a canvas painted with brilliant colors, large flat surfaces and objects outlined with black contours. Alexej Jawlensky's style of painting was exceptional and fascinating with its color-intensive compositions. He especially found inspiration in the works by Cézanne, Gauguin, Matisse and van Gogh. Influenced by their works of art and as a result of a constant artistic exchange and dialogue with Marianne von Werefkin, he developed a distinctive expressive style.

Alexej Jawlensky was born in Torshok, Russia in 1864. Since his family probably belonged to the Russian hereditary aristocracy, Jawlensky and his brothers pursued a military career in keeping with tradition. In 1881, he joined the strict cadet school of the second Moscow Cadet Corps. After graduating from military school, he was deployed to St. Petersburg as a lieutenant. There he attended the Academy of Painting under Ilja Repin where he met Marianne von Werefkin, who later became his life companion and patron. In 1896, the couple moved to Munich to attend a private art school. While living there, they became acquainted with a number of artists who they joined together with to form the New Artists' Association of Munich (NKVM) in 1909. In this period, Jawlensky also devoted his work to the French avant-garde art and travelled to France several times. Inspired by the work he had seen, he developed his personal expressive style of painting which he perfected in the summer of 1908 while he was in Murnau a. Staffelsee with Kandinsky, Münter and Werefkin. The reduction to the essential was central to his work, and to what he referred to as the "synthesis" of the impression of nature and an inner vision for this simplified visual language.

When World War I broke out, the Russian artist, together with his life companion Marianne von Werefkin, was expelled from the country. They immigrated to Switzerland and lived near Geneva and later in Zurich. When Jawlensky and Werefkin separated in 1918, Werefkin moved to Ascona on the lake Lago Maggiore while Jawlensky, feeling more drawn to Germany, moved to Wiesbaden. There he married Helene Nesnakomoff with whom he had a son. He continued to dedicate himself to art, particularly to the depiction of the human face, which he perfected in the shape of so-called meditations with strictly abstracted schemes. Alexej Jawlensky died in 1941.


The Alexej von Jawlensky Archive

The Alexej von Jawlensky-Archiv S.A. Archive based in Locarno, Switzerland was founded in 1988. As the proprietor of the copyrights to the artistic estate of Alexej von Jawlensky and Andreas Nesnakomoff Jawlensky, the archive has set itself the task of categorizing the works and materials associated with the life of Alexej von Jawlensky and making them accessible to members of the public with competence and an interest in art. You can also obtain information on the archive's website.

Alexej von Jawlensky-Archiv S.A.

Search & Book

Weather

Das Wetter in Murnau

Contact

TOURIST INFORMATION
MURNAU

Telephone: +49 (0)8841 6141-0 
Fax: +49 (0)8841 6141-21

Image

E-mail

Image
Kohlgruber Straße 1
82418 Murnau a. Staffelsee
Germany
Image

Opening hours:

1 May to 30 September
Mon. to Fri.09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
Sat., Sun., holidays 10:00 AM - 01:00 PM

 

1 October to 30 April
Mon. to Fri.09:00 AM - 12:30 PM
and01.30 PM - 05:00 PM
Sat.10:00 AM - 12:00 noon

Image

Alexej Jawlensky

Alexej Jawlensky, Gabriele Münter, Marianne von Werefkin und der kleine Andreas in Murnau © Alexej Jawlensky Stiftung

„Und ständig suche ich meine Form, damit ich das, was ich empfinde, in Farbe ausdrücken kann."

Leuchtende Farben, große Flächen, schwarze Umrisse umrahmen Gegenstände und stark umrandete Augen fixieren ihre Betrachter. Alexej Jawlenskys Malstil war außergewöhnlich und fasziniert durch seine farbintensiven Kompositionen. Inspiration fand er vor allem in den Werken von Cézanne, Gauguin, Matisse und van Gogh. Beeinflusst von ihren Arbeiten und in stetigem Austausch mit Marianne von Werefkin fand er zu einem unverwechselbaren expressiven Stil.

Alexej Jawlensky wurde 1864 in Torshok (Russland) geboren. Seine Familie gehörte wahrscheinlich dem russischen Erbadel an und so durchliefen Jawlensky und dessen Brüder traditionsgemäß die militärische Laufbahn. 1881 trat er der strengen Kadettenschule des Zweiten Moskauer Kadettenkorps bei. Nach Beendigung der Militärschule wurde er als Leutnant nach St. Petersburg versetzt. Dort besuchte er die Akademie der Malerei unter Ilja Repin und lernte dabei Marianne von Werefkin kennen, seine spätere Lebensgefährtin und Mäzenin. 1896 übersiedelten die beiden nach München, um dort eine private Kunstschule zu besuchen. Während ihres Aufenthalts schlossen sie Bekanntschaft mit mehreren Künstlern, mit welchen sie sich 1909 zur Neuen Künstlervereingung München zusammenfanden. Jawlensky widmete sich zu dieser Zeit auch der französischen Avantgarde und unternahm mehrere Reisen nach Frankreich. Durch diese entwickelte er seinen expressiven Malstil und vollendete diesen während eines Sommeraufenthalts 1908 in Murnau a. Staffelsee, gemeinsam mit Kandinsky, Münter und Werefkin. Die Reduktion auf das Wesentliche war zentral in seinem Schaffen und so entwickelte er für diese vereinfachte Bildsprache den Begriff „Synthese", der Natureindruck und innere Vision umspannt.

Mit Ausbruch des Ersten Weltkrieges wurde der russische Künstler gemeinsam mit seiner Lebensgefährtin Marianne von Werefkin dem Land verwiesen. Sie emigrierten in die Schweiz, später nach Ascona am Lago Maggiore. Als sich Jawlensky und Werefkin 1921 trennten, zog es ihn zurück nach Deutschland, nach Wiesbaden. Dort heiratete er die Mutter seines Sohnes, Helene Nesnakomoff und widmete sich weiterhin der Kunst, vor allem mit der Darstellung des menschlichen Antlitzes, die ihre Vollendung als sog. Meditationen mit streng abstrahierten Schemen fand. Alexej Jawlensky verstarb 1941.

 

Alexej von Jawlensky-Archiv S.A.

Die Alexej von Jawlensky-Archiv S.A. mit Sitz in Locarno, Schweiz, wurde 1988 gegründet. Sie hat sich als Inhaberin der Urheberrechte am künstlerischen Nachlass von Alexej von Jawlensky und Andreas Nesnakomoff Jawlensky zur Aufgabe gemacht, Werk und Materialien zum Leben von Alexej von Jawlensky zu katalogisieren und dem fachkundigen interessierten Publikum zugänglich zu machen. Informationen erhalten Sie auch auf der Website der Stiftung.

Alexej von Jawlensky-Archiv S.A.

Suchen & Buchen

Das Wetter in Murnau

Das Wetter in Murnau

Kontakt

TOURIST INFORMATION
MURNAU

Telefon: +49 (0)8841 61 41-0 
Telefax: +49 (0)8841 61 41-21

Image

E-Mail

Image
Kohlgruber Straße 1
82418 Murnau a. Staffelsee
Image

Öffnungszeiten:

1. Mai bis 30. September
Mo bis Fr09.00 - 17.00 Uhr
Sa, So und feiertags10.00 - 13.00 Uhr

 

1. Oktober bis 30. April
Mo bis Fr09.00 - 12.30 Uhr
und13.30 - 17.00 Uhr
Sa 10.00 - 12.00 Uhr

Image